Reflections Program

spirit blazer

2016-2017 Reflections Theme is “What is Your Story?"

Tell YOUR story and express your inner artist! Choreograph a dance, produce a film, write a poem or story, compose a song , take a picture or create a piece of visual art and tell us what the theme “What is Your Story?” means to you. The deadline for submitting entries is October 14, 2016. All entries must be inspired by this year’s theme: "What is Your Story?" . Each entry must be the original work of one student only. A student may submit entries in more than one category.


Students are encouraged to submit works of art in six arts areas:
• Dance Choreography
• Film production
• Literature
• Musical Composition
• Photography
• Visual Arts


General rules for participation: Please click here for general participation rules.

Specific rules for each category:

Visual Arts

Grade Divisions:

• Primary: preschool–grade 2
• Intermediate (Grades 3-5)
• Special Artist: Ungraded

Special Artist Division:

The Special Artist Division is an optional division of the Reflections Program, accepting students in all grades, for students whose, cognitive or mental health challenges meet guidelines set forth in the Americans with Disabilities Act. Qualifying students create their own artwork but may receive non-artistic accommodation and assistance from an adult. Virginia PTA will award one Outstanding Interpretation Special Artists in each arts category. National PTA will honor one Special Artist from across all arts categories to receive an Outstanding Interpretation Award. Up to five additional Special Artists will receive a National PTA Award of Excellence. Please read the rules for the Special Artist Division here.

Student Entry Form:

All entries should be submitted along with the student entry form. For the Student Entry Form please click here. Entries without the Student Entry Forms will be rejected.

For the General Participation Rules, please refer to the above general rules for participation.


Please contact:
THES Reflections Chair
Julie Johnson